'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
electric brakes question

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2005-08-28 10:42 AM
17 replies, 8496 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

mnk
Reg. Aug 2005
Posted 2005-08-23 3:02 PM (#29529)
Subject: electric brakes question

hi everyone. i'm new to horse trailer ownership and have some questions. i just bought a used trailer. has electric brakes on all 4 wheels. my towing vehicle has an electric brake controller installed as well. i'm trying ot understand how these two components work. i thought that the electric brake controller was sort of like an extra to help stop the trailer. but now i'm not so sure.

can someone please explain this to me?

thanks in advance!

marta

share Top of the page Bottom of the page
hosspuller
Reg. Oct 2003
Posted 2005-08-23 3:13 PM (#29530 - in reply to #29529)
Subject: RE: electric brakes question

Expert

Hello .. welcome ..

Just what do you want to know? Technology question or operation question?  What model controller do you have?  Someone will have the same or know of it.

You need the trailer brakes since the tow vehicle can't do all the stopping in a panic situation.  And many states require trailer brakes on something as heavy as a horse trailer.

Flooper
Reg. Aug 2004
Posted 2005-08-23 3:33 PM (#29531 - in reply to #29529)

Veteran