'
1
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon


You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
high tie line

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2021-04-10 4:43 PM
8 replies, 3149 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Camp & Trail  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format
 
Kdenigris
Reg. Jan 2020
Posted 2021-03-28 4:17 PM (#173574)
Subject: high tie line


Member


Posts: 5

I want to go camping at a place where there are permanent high tie lines. I will purchase a collar for my horse, but was is recommended to attach to the line?
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
cajunmuleman
Reg. Oct 2011
Posted 2021-03-29 2:08 AM (#173575 - in reply to #173574)
Subject: RE: high tie line



Elite Veteran


Posts: 656
5001002525
Location: Rayne, LA
I like to use a swivel on the line but if the line is already up you won’t be able to do that. Mine tend to turn and twist the lead rope up.




https://www.valleyvet.com/ct_detail.html?pgguid=2c3f74cc-c242-4f6f-a...(T000)%20HGPM%20Smart%20PLA&utm_term=4585100931550913
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Kdenigris
Reg. Jan 2020
Posted 2021-03-29 7:46 AM (#173577 - in reply to #173574)
Subject: RE: high tie line


Member


Posts: 5

Exactly the problem....since the line is permanent....I need something that can snap on with a swivel but not move too far down the line because there may be other tied horses.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
cajunmuleman
Reg. Oct 2011
Posted 2021-03-29 7:51 PM (#173580 - in reply to #173574)
Subject: RE: high tie line



Elite Veteran


Posts: 656
5001002525
Location: Rayne, LA
Try a bull snap hooked to the permanent tie and use a regular lead rope.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
hosspuller
Reg. Oct 2003
Posted 2021-03-29 8:33 PM (#173582 - in reply to #173574)
Subject: RE: high tie line


Expert


Posts: 2953
20005001001001001002525
Location: North Carolina
Use a "Prusik Loop" ...  Simply make a loop from a small diameter rope... Paracord is great. It will allow you to move the attachment point anywhere on the high line and the horse stays there.
If the horse gets tangled in his lead line, keep a sharp knife handy to cut the loop. After everybody is calmed, simply retie the loop and restore the tie.

 



(220px-Prusik.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 220px-Prusik.jpg (6KB - 0 downloads)
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Kdenigris
Reg. Jan 2020
Posted 2021-03-30 8:59 AM (#173584 - in reply to #173574)
Subject: RE: high tie line


Member


Posts: 5

Do you do the double fisherman's knot to create the loop?
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
hosspuller
Reg. Oct 2003
Posted 2021-03-31 9:33 AM (#173585 - in reply to #173584)
Subject: RE: high tie line


Expert


Posts: 2953
20005001001001001002525
Location: North Carolina
Kdenigris - 2021-03-30 9:59 AM

Do you do the double fisherman's knot to create the loop?

Nope .. Just a square knot at the ends, to make a 12 inch diameter loop. Don't complicate this.
Photo below is a manufactured high line attachment. To move it requires the line to be taken down. The Prusik loop merely needs to be loosened to move along a tensioned high line.

I use a Prusik loop for all things high line.
Feed bags and multiple horses on a single line. The loop keeps everything and horses where I put them.
To get fancy, I clip the "Blocker" to a loop too. The loop twists taking the place of a swivel. Undo lead from Blocker and let the loop hang free to untwist.

I even use the loop to secure the coiled nylon high line for storage. Nothing excess, everything used.

I'll post a photo later


Edited by hosspuller 2021-03-31 9:50 AM




(OP.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments OP.jpg (4KB - 1 downloads)
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
hosspuller
Reg. Oct 2003
Posted 2021-03-31 10:57 AM (#173586 - in reply to #173574)
Subject: RE: high tie line


Expert


Posts: 2953
20005001001001001002525
Location: North Carolina
As promised ..
A photo of the Prusik loop securing my high line system. 50 feet of 1/2 inch nylon rope. Uses a genuine climbing carabiner * in a trucker's knot to tension the high line. Along with several Prusik loops, home made is better than manufactured high line kits.

notice the webbing in the carabiner. It's former auto seat belt with loops sewn at ends as tree savers. One can also use old western girths to protect trees from the high line rope.



*Genuine climbing carabine vs dime store key ring variety. The genuine will hold 5,000 pounds.

Edited by hosspuller 2021-03-31 11:09 AM




(loop.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments loop.JPG (39KB - 1 downloads)
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Kdenigris
Reg. Jan 2020
Posted 2021-04-10 4:43 PM (#173614 - in reply to #173574)
Subject: RE: high tie line


Member


Posts: 5

Thank you for your help.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Message format
 

'
Registered to: Horse Trailer World
(Delete all cookies set by this site)