'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Sore back

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2014-05-29 2:57 PM
16 replies, 11787 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Horse Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

Painted Horse
Reg. May 2005
Posted 2013-09-01 5:05 PM (#154466)
Subject: Sore back

Expert

I've been pretty lucky over my years of horse experiences to not have many ailments afflict my animals. So while I consider myself a pretty experienced horseman, I'm really a novice when it comes to dealing with horse afflictions.

So I am looking for better answers to problem my gelding has developed this summer. I have a 10 year old gelding that has been my main riding horse for the past 5 years. This past April we did a tough ride into the Robbers Roost area of Southern Utah. After two days of serious riding he developed a sore back with some swelling centered over his spine where the back of the saddle ends.  No hair rubbed off, no galling, just some slight swelling, sore to my brushing him. I gave him a few weeks off and the swelling slightly reduced.

I then rode him near canyon in late May and notice him short stepping his walk. He seemed a little sore in his front right shoulder.  He moved just fine at faster gaits. But just seemed a little off at walk.  And the soreness to brushing/pressure came back when I removed the saddle,