'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
How do you find the best route when you haul?

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2011-08-29 5:14 PM
10 replies, 8138 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

OnO
Reg. Aug 2011
Posted 2011-08-27 12:44 PM (#137045)
Subject: How do you find the best route when you haul?

New User

Hi. I know someone knows the answer to this very basic question. I'm new to hauling a horse trailer, a 2H Logan Coach Slant with my Silverado 1500. I haul an ATV on a Zieman, so I know some basics. My first trip was 10 hours from SoCal Rancho Cucamonga to NorCal Bay Area, quite the learning experience. Good thing the trailer was empty. Two things happened that convinced me that picking the right route at the right time is critical. So my question is....how do you find the best routes for hauling?

First, I got up at 4AM to get on the road at 4:30 and found the 210 freeway near LA packed with compact cars driving 65mph weaving in and out of the truck lanes. Don't want to do that again, too stressful in the dark, although I learned my TomTom GPS and truckers are my friends for knowing when to merge left because the lane will exit. I caravanned with some semis and survived.