'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Insulation

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2010-01-27 8:38 PM
10 replies, 6588 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

ChristaBas
Reg. Feb 2008
Posted 2010-01-25 2:53 PM (#115687)
Subject: Insulation

Hello all! I recently acquired an OLD steel GN slant load trailer. I want to be able to "camp" in it, as I can't afford a LQ right now. I want to add some insulation to start. I have never done anything like this before. Can anyone point me in the right direction?1. What insulation do I use?2. How do I attach it?3. Does it go between the support bars or over them?I don't care if it is pretty, I just don't want to freeze in winter or roast in summer! :)Thanks!!
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
nobodyimportant
Reg. Jan 2010
Posted 2010-01-25 3:44 PM (#115689 - in reply to #115687)
Subject: RE: Insulation

Veteran

I'm assuming that you are going to put some kind of wallboard on the inside?  Since you aren't going to be using this, I would think, in extremely cold weather, you don't need to worry about trying to insulate the studs.  It's really 6 of one 1/2 dozen of the other as far as spun fiberglass over block foam.  Block foam can be fairly easy to install, it can be tough to get it cut right.  If you have a hot knife you can cut it so it has a snug, tight fit and you shouldn't need anything to attach it.  If not, I'd probably go with the fiberglass and glue it to the studs if the overlap paper is wide enough.  You could also glue it to the bacside of the exterior panels.
cliffj59
Reg. Feb 2008
Posted 2010-01-25 4:17 PM (#115691 - in reply to #115689)

Regular