'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Help... I have a few questions on putting in a LQ floor/bed area.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2009-04-03 12:50 PM
9 replies, 4691 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

AQHA 123
Reg. Oct 2008
Posted 2009-04-02 4:45 PM (#102660)
Subject: Help... I have a few questions on putting in a LQ floor/bed area.

Veteran

This week end I'm going to tackle the floor and bed area of my LQ. My goal is to get the floor, shortwall and floor of bed area insulated and covered with plywood.
I'm a good builder and I have a nice shop/barn, so I think I can do it in two days without too much trouble. I ordered the DIY book (DVD) from the folks on this site, I think that will be very helpful (BTW, if you are doing a LQ yourself, this DVD is a must, its well done). I just have a few question for you all, to help build my confidence I guess. :)

Here's my plan-- any recommendations you guys have would be MUCH appreciated.

Cut some fir striping and lay it out on the floor about four feet apart, and around all the edges. Glue the strips down to the aluminum floor with some type of poly glue from a calking gun (what glue is best Gard?).
As I'm gluing it down I will screw it to the floor using self tapping SS screws. I may have to do pilot holes, I will see if its needed. The screws are just going to stick out the bottom of the trailer I guess-- is this okay? Will they ever loosen up? Do I need to cut them off for any reason? How long of screws should I get?

I will do the same fir strips on the bed area and the shortwall, although on the short wall I will put them closer together, maybe 24 inches?