'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Stopping with a Manual Transmission

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2007-07-24 8:57 PM
16 replies, 4200 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

alicorn_horses
Reg. Jun 2004
Posted 2007-07-22 9:25 PM (#64247)
Subject: Stopping with a Manual Transmission

Hello,

I have to admit, I'm new to driving a MANUAL transmission with a horse trailer...Every time I drove my manual car, I have the habit of shifting into neutral and braking to stop (no matter how fast I was going)...So, needless to say, I have the same habit with my new Manual Truck (for reference, it's a 6 speed 1 Ton Dodge Diesel..I love it!  And don't want to ruin it).  I am told not to shift to neutral, but to downship 1, maybe even 2 gears at a time to let the engine help stop me.  A separate matter is that it has a jake brake, and I'm not sure when to use that...I'm told mainly for hills...but the dealer told me to use it whenever I tow, though that doesn't make sense to me because I tried it and I cannot coast (on a freeway or highway) without the jake brake being engaged...So, I guess there are two questions here....Downshifting, vs putting the truck in neutral to shift, and when to use the jake brake....If you can understand my ramblings, please answer me as my horses mean the world to me and I want to do what's safe...But I also want to do what's best for my truck...

Thanks a lot!

Kari Reilly

share Top of the page Bottom of the page
headhunter
Reg. Oct 2004
Posted 2007-07-22 10:16 PM (#64248 - in reply to #64247)
Subject: RE: Stopping with a Manual Transmission

Elite Veteran