'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Big South Fork Timber Ridge Horse Camp

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2007-09-05 2:40 PM
16 replies, 11727 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Camp & Trail  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

Peanut
Reg. Nov 2005
Posted 2007-07-07 6:31 AM (#63417)
Subject: Big South Fork Timber Ridge Horse Camp

16 We just got back from Timber Ridge yesterday. We had to come back early due to the fact that one of our horses lost 3 shoes. We are new at this and were put on some of the roughest trails I have ever been on in my life. Straight up over limestone bolders and going down was just as bad and this was with a guide.
I have been riding for 40+ years and have shown AQHA most of my life so I am not a novice rider, but this was way too much for the horses.

My question is....are there any easy trails out there anywhere that you can just enjoy your ride and not worry about killing yourself or your horse?

We went to Hard Labor Creek State Park in April and it was beautiful, nothing like doing an endurance course. So please tell me some of the places that you guys have gone that a novice trail rider could handle and which place at Big South Fork do you recommend?

Thanks
Cat
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
rose
Reg. Feb 2004
Posted 2007-07-07 1:08 PM (#63427 - in reply to #63417)
Subject: RE: Big South Fork Timber Ridge Horse Camp

You might want to try Natchez Trace State Park, LBL, Chickasaw State park, before you head back into the mountains.  Willow Creek in KY is very nice and do-able for novice trail riders.  Also, Circle E at Belvidere TN looks really good, altho we haven't been there yet.
JacciB
Reg. Nov 2006