'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
DYI weekender conversion

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2011-11-03 5:15 PM
16 replies, 28558 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

milliecat
Reg. Aug 2005
Posted 2005-10-04 8:32 PM (#31327)
Subject: DYI weekender conversion

Looking for advice...and still looking for a trailer.  I hope to buy a used 3H slant GN with minimum 4ft short wall.  In an effort to keep costs down on this purchase (under $10,000), I've focused on GN shells with the idea of finishing a weekender pkg myself.  I have never done anything like this before (as is true of all my horse experience in this past year!).  It seems do-able to me, especially with all the great guidance on this site... however, would I be better off saving more money to buy a trailer with weekender already done?  For a basic weekender with A/C, microwave, sink and cabinets, anyone have a ballpark cost for DIY vs complete? I'm going to Congress next weekend to search for trade-ins.

Thanks in advance!

share Top of the page Bottom of the page
qhgirl
Reg. Nov 2004
Posted 2005-10-04 9:50 PM (#31328 - in reply to #31327)
Subject: RE: DYI weekender conversion

Veteran

How funny. I am exactly in the same boat as you... but looking for a 2 horse. It is difficult to find any around this area. What brand are you looking for?

There are a handful of guys up north that can convert them... for cheaper because they get all their supplies from the "RV" companies up in northern Indiana.

Take a look at my post reguarding Floor Plans... The user "maccwall" did a great job of space saving and re-doing his trailer with directions! :)