'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Trail-et that's seen better days

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2009-06-04 11:04 AM
10 replies, 7636 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

notasoccermom68
Reg. Jun 2009
Posted 2009-06-03 10:05 AM (#105884)
Subject: Trail-et that's seen better days

I just picked up a '91 Trailet Park Avenue that has had a hard life.  But I got it cheap and it has everything I was looking for, and I've seen them selling for much more money in good condition.  Looking underneath, there are a few areas of the supports and crossmembers (and I'm not very technical so I don't know exactly what they are called) that are rusted through pretty bad although everything is still intact and not completely broken apart.  The owners were still hauling horses in it up until it was traded in to this dealer I got it from.  I personally would not want to haul my beloved equine in it yet!  The dealer said I could take it to a welder and he can cut out those areas and replace them with new steel, for not too much money.  Is this possible to do without replacing the entire length of the piece?  There's maybe 3 or 4 spots that I think he'll need to cut out and replace.  I'm taking it to a welder tomorrow for an inspection and quote, but now I'm having buyers remorse and going to lose sleep tonight thinking the welder is going to come back with a $1,000 quote for the repairs.  Other than that, it needs a new floor which we can do ourselves and I'm not concerned about that.  But the lights, brakes, and tires are all redone/new.  The body is in decent condition since it is aluminum, other than where the aluminum meets the steel there's rust/corrosion.