'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Brake controller setup on a 99 suburban

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2008-02-18 11:21 PM
11 replies, 9484 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

rationull
Reg. Feb 2008
Posted 2008-02-16 8:56 PM (#77008)
Subject: Brake controller setup on a 99 suburban

Hi all! My other half is a horse girl but I'm new to this stuff. We've recently purchased a 99 Suburban (old body style, GMT400, same as the 1998 model) and I'm doing my part by trying to get the brake controller set up. This is the model before GM started including a brake controller harness connector under the dash. Here's what I understand so far with respect to the wiring:

The controller (a Tekonsha Prodigy) has 4 lines coming out of it: black, red, white, and blue.
The 7 pin socket the trailer will plug into has a plug for the built-in 4 wire light connector (left/right turn signals, tail lights, and ground), in addition to a black wire, a blue wire, and an orange wire.

As far as I can tell, this is what I have to connect:
- Black wire on the controller goes to a stud coming out of the underhood fuse block (fused for 30 amps).
- Red wire on the controller splices in on the ground side of the brake light switch on the pedal.
- White wire on the controller connects to ground.
- Blue wire on the controller connects to blue wire on the 7 pin socket.
- Orange wire from the 7 pin socket goes to another stud coming out of the fuse box, for auxiliary electronics on the trailer.

Assuming the foregoing is correct (?) I had a few questions: