'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
trailer needs work, seeking advise on windows and SS bolts.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2007-09-15 8:30 AM
9 replies, 4545 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

mike and darcy
Reg. Aug 2007
Posted 2007-08-22 12:20 PM (#66270)
Subject: trailer needs work, seeking advise on windows and SS bolts.

Regular

We just bought a 1991 Safe Ride 3 horse slant gooseneck that is compact in size. It is mostly Alum but the side walls are fiberglass covered plywood.

PROBLEM!!

The window over the gooseneck leaked and now the plywood is comming apart and is causing a ripple look in the side wall. As a building contractor I am pretty handy with tools and ideas. My idea is to overlay the plywood on the inside and then add a couple of alum strips to the outside to pull the plys back together and then install brand new slightly larger windows to remove any dammaged wood. I will then have plywood in the living area to easily attach pretty panneling to.

Here is what advise I need.

The top rim and bottom rail that is made of heavy alum is bolted to the plywood with some bolts that have a plastic coating on them on the outside and a torx nut on the inside. I need some longer bolts since I will be overlaying the wall with 3/4" plywood. Where can I find these fasteners in a longer length??????? If I can not find these exact bolts, will stainless steel bolts work and where will I find them? Where can I buy replacement windows????????? Where is a good source for buying hardware, (latches, catches, lights, trim, etc.)?

Thank you to anyone in advance who has delt with any of these problems in the past.

Respectfully submitted.