'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Brake controller and other truck prep for new trailer?

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2008-11-14 6:28 AM
12 replies, 4743 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

jtravis
Reg. Jul 2008
Posted 2008-10-30 11:35 PM (#94000)
Subject: Brake controller and other truck prep for new trailer?

Regular

Well, I just put down the deposit on a new trailer (2H BP slant with DR). It is 200 miles away and I need to get ready to go pick it up. I'm a complete beginner at this--first truck & trailer. I sure hope I made a good choice!

I've been reading old posts about brake controllers and still feel confused. I've seen the Tekonsha P3 and Tekonsha Prodigy both recommended. What are the differences between them? Which is better and why? Some have suggested this is a do-it-yourself project, and I'm usually fairly good with that sort of thing, but I am not confident because I will not know how to test it to see if it is working properly. Someone here posted a link to an article about brake controllers, and it described proportional and timed controllers--are the P3 and Prodigy proportional controllers? Is proportional what I want?

Is there any way I can check that the truck's trailer wiring is working properly without actually having the trailer? If I paid a trailer dealer to install the brake controller, maybe they could also check the wiring? I don't want to spend $$$ unnecessarily, but I also don't want to drive 200 miles just to find out that something is not working and that I can't get the trailer.