'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Barrel Horses  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Battery charging,solar ,generator questions

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Last activity 2021-07-18 3:44 PM
10 replies, 8135 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Trailer Talk  Click to return to Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

lauraD
Reg. Mar 2017
Posted 2017-12-09 12:34 PM (#170927)
Subject: Battery charging,solar ,generator questions

Hi- I am a newbie to LQ trailers and have Q that are likely very basic- have looked at other posts and seen some good info, but want to clarify. My new Cimarron has a small LQ with 16k btu ducted furnace (1 vent in main area, other in bathroom) ,13.5k btu non ducted AC, 6 cu ft refrig that can run on propane or electric, 2 burner propane stove, microwave, water heater, water pump,shower, toilet, radio/cd player . All lights are LED. It has hydraulic jack. It has 2 "deep cycle marine batteries"- whatever that means. and 2 propane tanks
There are basically 3 things on which I would like input-
1. when trailer is not in use , what is best way to deal with battery charge maintenance?- Solar powered trickle charger which I assume will charge the batteries with the battery disconnect switch "off"- and I guess I would want one the somehow does not overcharge or turns itself on and off as needed- does that exist?
I have seen people in forum saying they leave plugged in to shore power with disconnect switch "0n" but have been told by an RV dealer that could lead to problems with the inverter/converter in the trailer failing. It would be easier in my situation to use a battery charger
. It really irks me to pay $4-450 for hook ups at horseshows. so that leads to my next 2 questions