Poll Horses won't eat poultry litter fertilized hay.
Shadowboxer
Reg. Dec 2012
Posted 2012-12-23 12:05 PM (#148918)
Subject: Horses won't eat poultry litter fertilized hay.

I have been working with horses since 1964.  My horses range in ages of 2 years old, 5 years old, 15 years old, 20 years old and up to 25 years old. In the past 5 years, hay producers in my area have turned to using poultry litter on their hay field as fertilizer because of costs.  The square bale hay looks green and great, but my horses just sniff it and walk away.  They waste it.  They won't eat it.  Each year, I have to return the hay and buy hay that was not produced with poultry litter.  Thank goodness, most hay producers are being honest when I ask if they used poultry litter in the production of their hay.  Last year, when I took 100 bales home from a hay producer that I had bought from previously that season, my horses would not eat the hay. I called the hay producer.  He confirmed that he had distributed poultry litter in the production of that hay.  When he looked in his notes and realized that I had requested non-poultry litter fertilized hay from the start, he came to our place and removed the 100 bales of poultry litter fertilized hay and replaced it with hay that did NOT get produced with poultry litter.  My horses immediately started eating the hay that did NOT have poultry litter used in the production of it.  So, here is my question.  Has anyone experienced this problem with their horses?  If so, what did you do?  This has happened to me with 4 separate hay producers.  I cannot find anything on the internet that explains this problem.  I understand that it is a fairly new process, but surely, someone is recognizing the problem besides me!!!
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Painted Horse
Reg. May 2005
Posted 2012-12-23 1:49 PM (#148919 - in reply to #148918)
Subject: RE: Horses won't eat poultry litter fertilized hay.

Expert