Is it me or my mare
deranger
Reg. Jan 2004
Posted 2006-06-04 6:48 AM (#42607)
Subject: Is it me or my mare

Elite Veteran

My mare is a 12 year old half arab, half paint and has had 2 foals in the past 5 years.  After her last foal I gave her about 2 years off from trail riding due to the fact she let me know she didn't want to go.  I didn't have the time to diagnose right then and took another horse on the trails for a while.  Last year, I started riding her again and she was enjoyable to ride again.  A few weeks ago, I rode her for 2 days in a wagon train for about 45 miles and she was as good as she has ever been.  The following weekend, I attempted to trail ride her and she was an absolute pill!  Rooting at the bit, not relaxing, in go mode the whole day and pulled my arms out of the sockets all day.  I walked her off and on part of the day and she didn't even want to walk next to me and kept trying to pass me.  I've tried everything I can think of and can't come up with a reason for her behavior.  Weather was about the same, there were some wagons on the second trail ride, she was with her pasture buddy, same saddle, same tack and same rigging.  Nothing I can think of should have made that much difference except between her ears?  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
hounddog
Reg. Dec 2005
Posted 2006-06-04 7:48 AM (#42608 - in reply to #42607)
Subject: RE: Is it me or my mare

Expert

She let you know she didn't want to go? Then the rest sounds like a fit horse with a lot of disrespect for the human in control.Back to basics in a round pen or arena.Lots of backing,transitions etc.Gain control.YOU dictate speed and where and when.
Terri
Reg. Jan 2004
Posted 2006-06-04 11:34 AM (#42613 - in reply to #42607)

Expert

Bad behavior got her out of it once so she is trying it again. You gave her 2 years off and she liked it.