Diesels????
Backin3
Reg. May 2006
Posted 2006-05-18 7:20 AM (#41864)
Subject: Diesels????

Hey all !! I'm new to the forum but have visited as a "guest" for a while. I have a question for ya. I'm new to diesels and hauling with them.

I have a '98 Dodge Ram 3500 24 valve turbo diesel and pull an '04 3h/sl/gn Featherlite ( 4 ft short wall but unfinished dr/lq), usually only 2 horses in the trailer. I've been warned against hauling with OD on, but when I turn it off, it tacs really high, esp on a long grade. The tranny was replaced by Dodge and a larger torque converter put in (by the previous owner), all still under warantee..dont want to hurt the tranny, but concerned about the high tac reading when off. Do I use OD or not??

Also,have been told that "as maintenance" I should be using about 3 qts of auto trans oil in the fuel tank about every other fill up to lube the injectors. Is this good advice? She has 171,000 miles on her. Oil changes at every 2500-3000 miles with Rotella.

I'm leaving for MO for a trail ride next week, so any advice is apprecitated.....
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
S Farmer
Reg. May 2006
Posted 2006-05-18 8:43 AM (#41869 - in reply to #41864)
Subject: RE: Diesels????

I have never heard of anyone suggesting putting oil in fuel tank. the diesel fuel that we buy today has additives already in it and it will provide all the lubrication needed for the injectors. The high rpm's you reach climbing a long grade is caused by the higher rear end ratio in your truck. Most of the problems with the overdrives are not caused by climbing steep grades because the tranny shifts down out of o-drive. the problem is when it repeatedly shifts in and out of od, which causes them to slip and creates heat. I personally wouldn't worry about manually shifting tranny let it work on its own. Make sure you check oil in the trans and change the fluid and filter on scedhule.
xyzer
Reg. Apr 2004
Posted 2006-05-18 8:47 AM (#41870 - in reply to #41864)